Christ Evangelical Lutheran Church Annual Congregational Meeting January 28, 2024

# 1. Call to order

Council President Su Erickson called the 2024 Annual Congregational Meeting to order at 10:25 a.m.

### 2. **Opening liturgy**

Pastor Jeff led the meeting attendees in prayer.

### 3. Appointment of Tellers

President Erickson announced the tellers: David Bruce, Jim Hill, John Williams and Wes Yost. Ann Bruce is the Parliamentarian.

# 4. Approval of the minutes from the 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes and Dec. 10, 2023, Special Congregational Meeting

Elaine Carlson moved to accept the minutes of both meetings as presented in the Annual Report, Sherry Hassel seconded. Motion carried.

### 5. Review of staff and council reports and 2023 audit report

President Erickson directed attendees to the staff and council reports in the meeting packet and asked if there were any questions. Hearing none, she proceeded with the agenda.

#### 6. Review of the 2023 Mission Spending Plan and Presentation of the 2024 Plan

John Brown presented the end of year financial report for 2023 and explained that the \$10,353 loss in the general budget was partly because of the \$140,000 that was spent for the sewer project. Some of the money that was used to pay for the sewer came from our designated funds which now total \$53,000. John then went over the different fund balances, gave a short explanation of the 2024 mission spending plan and asked for questions. There were none.

John stated that the council voted to recommend the 2024 MSP and to consolidate the designated funds into 3 categories: Solar, Outreach and Discretionary. Su explained the reasoning behind this move and recommended that the congregation address any concerns that they may have about this issue to council members.

# 7. Declaration of quorum.

Su Erickson confirmed that quorum was present with 68 members in attendance.

#### 8. Nominating committee report

Su presented the Nominating Committee report and asked for nominations from the floor. There were no nominations from the floor, so nominations were closed. The following people were nominated for council positions:

- a. Education 2-year term Magan Ratalsky
- b. Fellowship 2-year term Gene Myers
- c. Outreach 2-year term Su Erickson
- d. Worship and Music 2-year term Carol Moonan
- e. Youth 1-year term no candidate

Su then announced the following appointments: 2025 Audit Committee – Janell Jenson, Keith LeFevre, and Ron Nawrocki; Secretary – Joann Wordell, and Treasurer - John Brown.

# 9. Ratification of constitutional amendments C.12.01 and C13.02 which were approved in 2023

The congregation was reminded that we needed to finalize the changes to the constitution that were approved in 2023. Su asked for questions and there were none.

#### 10. Casting of written ballots

The written ballots were distributed to the congregation members. The ballots contained a vote for council positions, the Mission Spending Plan, the consolidation of designated funds and ratification of the Constitutional amendments C12.01 and C13.02.

#### 11. Update on transition process

Su has had conversations with Deacon Katie Kline at the synod office and she will assign a transition coach to help us get started. We will have a transition team first and then a call committee. If you would like to be part of the Transition team let Su know. The call committee has to be elected at a special meeting of the congregation.

# 12. Update on sewer and solar projects

Su stated that updates are available on the church website for both sewer and solar projects. Because we have a 70-year-old building we will continue to have maintenance issues.

# 13. Recognition of outgoing council and committee members and other

#### staff

Cher Johnson – Fellowship Joanne Mueske – Worship and Music Jim Harmon – Secretary/Vice-president Ann Bruce – Treasurer Audit Committee – Tom Reynolds, Darrel Bjornson and Janell Jenson Nominating Committee – Gayle Denny, Cher Johnson, Magan Ratalsky and Darrel Bjornson Communications manager – Renata Spanton-Jones Facilities manager and Pastor of Vida Nueva – Jonathan Gonzalez Director of Music and Worship – Miloy Canete Pastor – Jeff Gallen

# 14. Election results

68 completed ballots were returned. All nominees were elected, the 2024 Mission Spending Plan and consolidation of designated funds were approved, and the constitutional amendments were ratified.

### 15. Closing comments and prayer

Su asked for any comments or questions and seeing none, asked Pastor Gallen to offer a closing prayer.

# 16. Adjournment

Brad Sornsin moved to adjourn the 2024 Annual Meeting and Dave Bruce seconded. Motion carried. The 2024 Annual Congregational Meeting adjourned at 11:04 am.

Respectfully submitted by Magan Ratalsky, Acting Secretary and Ann Bruce